NGD - early-2000s PRS goodness

PonchoGregPonchoGreg Frets: 764
edited December 2020 in Guitar

Well, that’s a long-standing itch well and truly scratched!

I started playing electric in the early 2000s, and back then a PRS was the stuff of legend in France. There were a few about, but as a teenager you’d have no chance of ever trying the one model a shop might happen to stock. I did try a used one at the time and it stuck with me as the best guitar I’d ever laid my hands on - from then on it was on the bucket list as something to get somehow, someday. Preferably in a fetching McCarty burst.

Fast forward nearly 20 years, and there we are with my first ever core PRS – fittingly, an early-2000s (2003) Custom 22. Got it off Reverb, used but not abused.

Now, I’ve had the privilege of owning some very nice guitars in the meantime (high-end Jap Tokai, Gibsons, etc), so it’s not quite the same near-religious experience I had all those years ago. Still, it’s bloody nice! It just rings, probably more so than any other guitar I’ve owned, which combined with the stoptail translates to a really thick, sweet tone with bags of sustain. Pretty much the PRS (22-fret) tone to me!

Part of that could be the wide fat neck, which is actually a fair bit chunkier than I would have expected – not far off the 59-style profile on my old LP, albeit wider, which actually makes it more comfortable. There’s also a lovely “suppleness” to it, which I’ve always found common to core PRSi – the frets just disappear, and the tension is right in the sweet spot with a set of 10s.

I was expecting to be non-plussed by the stock Dragon II pickups based on conventional internet wisdom, but they’re actually very good. The neck in particular is thick but not boomy or undefined, while the bridge is also not overly pokey and can cop some very good classic rock tones. They also split well, and the volume control is super effective at getting a range of “in-between” tones.