New Pickguard and Shielding

What's Hot
I bought a new pickguard to replace the one on my Classic Vibe Jazzmaster and was wondering about the shielding (and also hoping the holes line up). 

I'm a complete novice at this so any guidance would be great. Do I need to cover the back of the pickguard in copper tape?

The new one just has a small silver strip (aluminium tape maybe) over the tone pots and jack area and nothing else. I believe the inside of the cavities have the Fender black paint stuff for conductivity. 

Also, what exactly is grounding? I have to make the wire touch the bridge screws or something?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 73105
    The shielding should really cover all the ares where there is wiring underneath. It's not necessary elsewhere.

The bridge should already be grounded, it's usually done with a wire trapped under the treble side 'thimble' insert.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• thefezthefez Frets: 131
    ICBM said:
    The shielding should really cover all the ares where there is wiring underneath. It's not necessary elsewhere.

The bridge should already be grounded, it's usually done with a wire trapped under the treble side 'thimble' insert.
    Ok thanks.

I guess if I'm just taking the bridge in and out only to remove the pickguard then it should still be grounded when I put it back in. 
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 73105
    thefez said:

I guess if I'm just taking the bridge in and out only to remove the pickguard then it should still be grounded when I put it back in. 
    Yes, it connects to the thimble in the body not the bridge itself. You'll see the wire when you take the pickguard off.