Gibson 335 / Les Paul - 2020 quality?

What's Hot
hendrix2430hendrix2430 Frets: 40
edited December 2020 in Guitar
Hi gents

I’m thinking of getting either a Les Paul or 335 in the very near future... looking at both the new and used markets.

The new 2020 versions of both models look promising but I must say I’d be slightly nervous about going that route, considering Gibson’s reputation for being so inconsistent. Trying a few in shops is a bit tricky at the moment.

Does anyone have any experience with both the new Les Pauls and 335s? Are they built in the same factory? Is the fit / finish quality equivalent?

Also looking for feedback regarding the T type humbuckers on the 335... I’ve no experience with them. How would you characterise those?

thanks for any help / advice
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• oldhorsemurphyoldhorsemurphy Frets: 321
    edited December 2020
    The 2020 Les Pauls are superb quality and are a marked improvement on the recents years. 

I have a 2019 335 which is a wonderful guitar (one of the last built in Memphis), but the build quality of the 2020 Les Paul leaves it in the dust in terms of fit and finish. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • CloudNineCloudNine Frets: 4318
    I recently bought a 2020 Nashville '59 reissue 335. Absolutely blown away by it, played another and was also the same level. Have had a good few 335's over the years, including another '59 reissue and this is a different league. Best sounding by miles and they got the neck profile right, used to be way too fat. Had been searching for the right semi, had a Collings i35 etc., but nothing compares to a great Gibson. When it's right, it is very very right.
  • Thanks guys. @Cloudnine is your 335 a custom Shop or a production one?