Question(s) on painting a speaker cab

A friend of mine has built an open backed speaker cabinet for me.  He used plywood and left it unfinished as I hope to paint it matte black.

What is the best way to go about this task?  A light sanding plus a primer coat, followed by finish coat?  I am a novice in this work so please chip in with your 'how it should be done' method.

Thanks.
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• PhilKingPhilKing Frets: 1510
    I used a textured paint that was designed for speaker cabs.  It is really durable and hard wearing.  I used DuraTex in the States, but I see there is something called TuffCab in the UK.  You use a textured roller for it and it was really easy and looks good.
  • RickLucasRickLucas Frets: 434
    Rustins black woodstain.
  • randellarandella Frets: 4398
    Did you ever finish this? I've just done exactly the same thing. Even after sanding I did use some grain filler (Rustins) to get the paint to go down flat. I think the paint I used was also Rustins, matte black masonry paint (was the cheapest option on Amazon). I just slapped it straight on the prepped ply.

It looks lovely actually, one coat near enough did the job but two looks spot-on, very nice and even. I'm torn about the next stage which was to be a clearcoat of marine varnish (hence the "that'll do" masonry paint option!). I probably will do it because lockdown boredom :).

I really wanted to Tolex it, but I figured a good paint finish would be better than a bad vinyl one. Plus it's only going to be leaving the house infrequently so no real need for proper roadworthiness.
  • RockerRocker Frets: 5041