audio interface, mixer as interface or both??

paulmapp8306paulmapp8306 Frets: 846
edited March 2021 in Studio & Recording
PK... Ive been using a soundcraft signature 12 MTK for the last 2 years.   14 in 12 out interface, with 3 stereo channels (one of which is the USB return) and 6 mono.

The mixer itself still works just fine BUT the USB interface has gone tits.  so I need an alternative to get sound out of my PC to my speakers, as well as in when I record (which isnt that often).

Despite the mixer having those 14 ins, I havent really used more than the stereo in.   When I DO record its generally me.  I can sequence my keyboards, or record each part into the DAW individually.   While having multiple ins is "nice" I really don think I "need" them.

So - what to do.    I need the mixer just for general playback - my AFX going into one stereo pair, my keyboards into another, my PC in a 3rd and PS4 onto a 4th.

Options as far as I can see. 

1.  Keep the Soundcraft as the actual analogue mixer, but add something like the scarlet 2i2 just to handle the PC interface bit.   So the main outs of the mixer go to my speakers, with the sub bus going into scarlet to record, and the scarlet outs going to a stereo input of the mixer.  Cheapest option, but an extra box (and as everything goes through the mixer first Im not benefiting from the quality if the Pre Amps)

2.  Just replace the mixer with a new analogue one.   Something like the Prosonus Studio live Arc 12c which is similar to what I have but is a stereo in/out (which as I say is probably enough) - but has more stereo channels that suits my use better.  ** Edit - actually seen this is a 14x4 interface as well... though I cant see if the control room and phones output are independent from the main fader or not.   One of them would need to be.