Total noob acoustic mic question

What's Hot
So i'm looking to get into recording solo acoustic guitar at home.
But i'm a total NOOOOB
I know nothing.
NOTHING!
 :# 

So i've been trying to educate myself on youtube about different mics and stuff, but in all honesty, most of it goes over my head

I think i've narrowed it down a bit so this is what i'm thinking i'm going to need...

Macbook pro (which i already own) with Garage Band
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4... (i'm thinking this would cover me for phantom power?)
and either a large diaphragm condenser mic or a pair of small condenser mics. 
I've been looking at Warm Audio as they seem to do some great affordable versions of the more expensive big boys of the audio world. 
Particularly the WA-84, WA-14, WA-87 R2, WA-47

So my question is what mic or mics should I be looking at?

Given i'm a novice at this I was thinking a single Large diaphragm condenser mic would be simple to set up? But would I be better off with a pair of small diaphragm for a stereo sound? Or would that complicate things and be overkill? Is there anything else i'd need to get started?

If anyone has experience of mic'ing acoustics I'd love to get your thoughts 

Thanks!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10405
    edited March 2021
    I achieved my best results using a large diaphragm condenser near the sound hole and a small diaphragm condenser  near the 12th fret. Generally in the studio I used an SE2200 and a Shure SM81 which were the best mics we had for that application. 

You can get acceptable results quite cheaply though, this is a Rhode NT2A about 12" from the soundhole recorded in my front room 

Put some cans on and monitor what you hear while you move the mic and see where it sounds good. Generally it's fuller sounding near the soundhole but has a better attack near the 12 fret area

www.2020studios.co.uk 
  • p90foolp90fool Frets: 31589