Newbie's introduction and fretwire question

Hi all,

I'm pretty new on the Fretboard forum - I'm only made one post up to now. I have a long-standing ambition to build a flamenco guitar from scratch and have all the materials to do so - twice - bought plans for a 2003 Reyes from the States . . . However, I'm trying to develop my non-existent woodworking skills before I go anywhere near my precious tonewoods. I'm an engineer by inclination and training but I can't see many transferable skills between the two disciplines so I've been learning on the fly.

I have owned and played guitars for 60 years or so - always classical. I bought my current guitar in 1968 when I was a student; I was doing holiday work in a steelworks at the time and it cost me more than a 48-hours week's worth of wages (it was 24 guineas - £25.20) when I was making £20 a week . . . Couple of weeks ago I also bought a nylon-strung Aria Sinsonido so I can practice in silence.

Over the past couple of years I've bought and built a Chinese Stratocaster kit just to get the hang of setting it up, then bought another Strat in need of attention for more practice - someone had messed up the truss-rod so I removed the fretboard, repaired the truss-rod and replaced the fretboard again. Still nothing to do with classical guitar building but I understand the principles a little better now.