Why wouldn't you raise your kid bilingual?

What's Hot
124»

Comments

• jonnyburgojonnyburgo Frets: 12364
    My niece is 9 and speaks English, Turkish ans Arabic perfectly, brains like sponges at that age. Its pretty amazing to see.
    "OUR TOSSPOT"
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • CHRISB50CHRISB50 Frets: 4310
    CHRISB50 said:

My uncle was a strange one. His dad’s family were all Italian. His paternal grandmother could only speak Italian, so always spoke to him in Italian. He couldn’t respond, but understood what she was saying perfectly. He retained that his whole life. He’d go to Italy on holiday and be able to understand what was being said, but could never respond. I don’t really understand how that works. 

@CHRISB50 That is the difference between active and passive language. I said earlier that my wife only speaks to our kids (now in their mid-20s) in her native language. I've been hearing that language for 25+ years and can understand it really well, but because I never speak it, the words won't come. You have to use a language regularly to build an active vocabulary.
    Interesting. 

I’ve worked for a Korean company for over 20 years. I recognise every word I hear spoken on a daily basis, but have no idea what they mean. I can sometimes pick up the gist, but only as certain western words are used, as there is no Korean equivalent. 

Brains are funny things. 

I can't help about the shape I'm in, I can't sing I ain't pretty and my legs are thin

But don't ask me what I think of you, I might not give the answer that you want me to

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • shuikitshuikit Frets: 224
    Because the parents were bulled so heavily as children for speaking a different language or treated like a zoo animal for it that they don't want their own children to have to go through the same.  Or for having a 'not normal' name, why they might only give their children 'English names'