NAD - I'm now playing with a little Statesman

What's Hot
McTootMcToot Frets: 2057

No, not a reference to an autobiography by any one of a number of Italian callgirls, but my new Hughes & Kettner Statesman.  Its the Dual EL84 model at about 20w and I have been keeping an eye out for one for about 4 years, ever since playing one at GAK. I bagged this second hand one last week (mint condish, but with an issue with the reverb tank) for a very nice price. 

By 'eck it has been worth the wait.  I likes it A LOT.  I'll make a decision after the honeymoon period ends, but I reckon that this will mean shifting my Cornford: it's that good. 

Really nice, warm, shimmery cleans.  Not perhaps quite the 3D glassiness of a Fender HRD, but not a million miles off.  Maybe a touch of the Vox in there too.  It loves Strat types and my P90 loaded SG Classic sounds great through it too.  Haven't tried my LP yet.  It doesn't have a huge amount of clean headroom and a bit of grit starts to come through after about 4.  Wound right up it actually does a really nice light crunch. 

The Drive channel is also very useable too as long as you don't want all out metal (which I don't).  I would hesitate to describe it as Marshall-like, as I have read others doing; I would say that it is more of a Vox-like crunch - quite nasal and distinctive, but really quite useful.  I'm camping out at the M-in-Law's while our house is being mauled by some very expensive hairy-arsed builders so I have not been able to use it with any pedals, but I'm hopeful that the drive channel will be useful as a 'third' option.

So not only is Fritz very good at football, but he makes a mean amp too - the clever bratwurst.  Some pics:

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder

My trading feedback  - I'm a good egg  ;) 

0reaction image LOL 3reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• 57Deluxe57Deluxe Frets: 7406
    <Vintage BOSS Upgrades>

And a gorgeous looking amp !