Using DIY Layout Creator for wiring diagrams

What's Hot
Jimbro66Jimbro66 Frets: 2480
edited September 2021 in Making & Modding
I’d been looking for drawing software to create practical wiring diagrams (not schematics) for SD-style guitar wiring layouts and ptp amp layouts, etc. I stumbled on the free DIY Layout Creator developed about 8 years ago by TDPRI member Bancika. It’s been frequently updated since then and seems ideal. The only possible downside is that it uses Java.

Has anyone here been using it successfully? Any comments or tips?

Here are examples of the sort of thing it can produce:

Images copyright Bancika.
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• axisusaxisus Frets: 28396
    Excellent looking results there! although I hate fluorescing RGB colours like that green.

Got a link? I'd be interested to take a look - although I draw my own wiring diagrams in illustrator as I am a designer.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • poopotpoopot Frets: 9100
    Yeah it’s a good bit of software to be fair…

when I redid my 18watt it came in very useful as it keeps the circuit connected..

from this:

To this via drag and drop:

To this:

0reaction image LOL 5reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RiftAmpsRiftAmps Frets: 3287
    tFB Trader
    I use it every day, cracking bit of software.

I find it's easier to use if you work in Imperial measurements, owing to the slightly odd way that the 'snap to grid' feature works, even if you switch the grid to Metric.

*I no longer offer replacement speaker baffles*
    Rift Amplification
    Handwired Guitar Amplifiers
    Brackley, Northamptonshire
    www.riftamps.co.uk

RiftAmps said:

I find it's easier to use if you work in Imperial measurements,
    Now you're scaring me ...