practicing sitting down v standing ?

What's Hot
as a forever beginner I have always fallen in to the trap of slouching back on the sofa and tinkering away with disorganised practice, and then I may even get a bit more focussed and sit up on the front edge of the sofa, and in fact sometimes surprise myself on the odd occasion of fluency of notes/chords and rarely having to look at my fingers ...however, more often in recent times I get together with others in a hall or somewhere and find myself having to play standing up ...and totally muck it by missing strings, bad fretting and missing notes galore. Seems the sitting down muscle memory doesn't easily adapt to standing up, and it is something I need to address ...and I guess by standing up more during practice. Just wondering if others experience the same and any tips to help me sort this problem a bit sooner rather than later !
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TanninTannin Frets: 5507
    G'day Jimbo. It's not an issue for me as I don't ever need to stand up to play these days. But I remember it being a bit of a factor back in my bass-playing days 30-odd years ago, but easily rectified with a little (and I do mean a little) practice. 

One really good way of playing is to stand with one foot on something around about knee height (a kitchen chair, a coffee table, whatever you have). You don't need a strap, it's much more comfortable than standing for any length of time, almost like sitting (the secret is that the weight of your guitar isn't on your neck or your back, it's just sitting on your knee), you have good posture, and a fair bit of freedom of movement if you want to get energetic. Transition to standing play is easy from there.