Interface Woes

What's Hot
I'm using an Akai EIE Pro and I'm new to all of this.  I want to use Cakewalk as my DAW but it won't let me set my Asus Xonar Essence as the output as the Akai is selected there.  My Xonar is listed but pale grey and won't let me select.  I have a feeling that this is the Akai driver being a bully here.
However, if I use Audacity, I can set Akai input and Xonar output and it works.
I have zero experience of using a DAW and think I'd prefer to use Cakewalk.  Does anyone know a solution to the problem I've listed above please?
It may be that I don't know what I'm talking about???
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• IMC1980IMC1980 Frets: 146
    Why do you want to use the Xonar soundcard instead of the Akai interface? If you want to use the Xonar over the Akai then just unplug the Akai then Cakewalk should default to your other soundcard. 
  • Thanks for reply.  The Xonar is in my tower under the desk and connected to my speakers (Quad 9L 60W Monitors) via phono connectors.  Having to switch the Akai off kind of makes a mockery of Edit/Preferences being there.

• I have zero experience of using a DAW and think I'd prefer to use Cakewalk.  Does anyone know a solution to the problem I've listed above please?

Cakewalk allows the use of one soundcard when using an ASIO driver. 

https://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=Cakewalk&language=3&help=AudioPerformance.18.html

Unsure about Audacity. What drivers are you using there?

Thanks for reply.  The Xonar is in my tower under the desk and connected to my speakers (Quad 9L 60W Monitors) via phono connectors.  Having to switch the Akai off kind of makes a mockery of Edit/Preferences being there.
    As above, you can only use one Asio device at a time, it is a limitation of the standard I think. You could try line to phono leads if your monitors don't take a line out connection.