Recommend me a simple set-up for recording my amps at home (£200-300)

What's Hot
Hi all, 

I'm looking to record a few bits and pieces at home. I'm a complete novice so all I was thinking was a microphone, cables and interface - but do advise if you think there is any other gear that might be necessary. At this point I'm happy to use garageband unless anyone strongly suggests otherwise. 

I'm using a Macbook 2019 model, so it's reasonably capable. 

Also, fully okay with shopping around for second hand stuff so suggestions can be angled towards better gear at the right price. 

I also have a D28 I wouldn't mind recording so bonus if any suggestions would be suitable for this as well, but primarily looking to record my amplifiers. 

Cheers!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• If you’re only ever going to use one microphone, this is a pretty superb bit of kit. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • At home Two Notes Torpedo of some kind. With a good cabinet IR loaded you will get results far above anything you would get in two years of moving microphones around and worrying about the noise and your neighbours. Also don't throw loads of money at IR packs - there are free ones around that frankly embarrass some of the paid offerings!
  • At home Two Notes Torpedo of some kind. With a good cabinet IR loaded you will get results far above anything you would get in two years of moving microphones around and worrying about the noise and your neighbours. Also don't throw loads of money at IR packs - there are free ones around that frankly embarrass some of the paid offerings!
    Okay nice - so line out recording technology is now viable? I'm very much an amateur in this arena but sounds like the tech has caught up. I know it's a much higher price bracket but is the Universal OXBOX the same kind of thing?