Total Newbie

What's Hot
I've never bothered with recording anything at home before as I was in a Rock covers band and that was enough for me. I'm rapidly hurtling towards 58 and I doubt I'll be in a band again so now I'm thinking I might try recording a few ideas at home as a way of keeping myself amused. I won't be recording covers, just my own ideas so I guess I'm looking for a compositional tool as well as recording. I will be using a PC, not a Mac.

I play guitar and I've just ordered a Boss GX-100 that will provide all of my amp tones and effects as well as being my recording interface. I can record the bass parts through the GX-100 myself too. All I need for these parts is a way of recording and mixing, but drums will be the problem. I don't play drums and I don't have easy access to a drummer, so I need to add the drum track virtually. I assume this is possible in this modern world.

The most important thing is that whatever I use, it has to be incredibly simple and intuitive. I have never tried anything like this before and you can safely assume that my current ability is somewhere south of absolute zero. At first I thought something like a Tascam DP-008 might be old school enough for my non-existent ability but that would still give me the problem of how to add drums. I assume there is something I can use on my PC for doing this, but if I had that, would I need the Tascam at all?

If you were just starting out with no knowledge or experience at all and wanted to compose and record your own music, adding virtual drums, what would you get as the very easiest way of achieving this?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LuttiSLuttiS Frets: 2246
    Reaper + EzDrummer is probably the way forward. Reaper is the recording program, it has a full access trial for as long as you want to try it for.