How to build

What's Hot
GSPBASSESGSPBASSES Frets: 2397
edited July 2022 in Making & Modding tFB Trader

One of these, an overhead pin router.

The screw in between two bolts on the side of the machine is used to adjust the router sideways, there is also one on the other side, these are only used when the machine is first set up. Although I do check regularly that everything is lined up.

I’ve been using an overhead pin router for about 35 years, the one in the photo above I’ve been using for about eight years. The photo below is the early version, I built some 35 years ago. Which is basically the same but instead of the router mounted on an L-shaped beam, it’s mounted on a beam across the back of the bench.

I had the L-shaped beam made by a local company of fabricators, only had to put £50 in the tea fund. The drawings below give all the measurements and sizes you need, I think the only thing I would change is the length of the beam coming out at across the bench, I would add about 50mm. Apart from that I would leave it as it is. The steel box section is made from heavy duty 100mm X 50mm. The positioning of the holes drilled on the face plate have to be accurate to line up with the rise and fall mechanism. 

The holes on the faceplate are spaced at 40mm apart vertically, this is to suit the milling attachment I have, this measurement may be different on other milling attachments. 

The cradle that holds the router was made from bits of aluminium I got off eBay. A friend did some machining to clean up the ends of the two arms that point outwards, also machine the hole in the back plate to fit the cradle to the lift mechanism. I haven’t given any measurements to the cradle, as this will depend on what router you’re going to use. But you can see from the photo below exactly how it’s put together.

The two holes in the side of the cradle are where the rods go hold the router in place,

The bar going across the front is removed once it's all assembled.