Where to start with recording guitar / music production.

What's Hot

I feel it’s time I started laying down something tangible, but don’t really know where to start.

Recording my guitar and loops that I can solo over is a must. Not too bothered about vocals at this point but would like something that can at least give me drum tracks. I think I’ll be needing a DAW, and then some sort of software. Is that right? I’m an absolute noob at this stuff.

I have the guitars I like; a good range of sounds, strat, tele, LP. I’ve never been one for having loads of pedals, I make do with effects available on my amp: a Boss Katana 50 (mk 1); I haven’t tried the tone studio yet so I’m probably missing out a bit. Although if the software that you guys can recommend has more effects to choose from that’d be great.

My laptop is fairly strong and up to date; currently running happily on Windows 10. Even if it comes to the point of getting a laptop purely for the music stuff then that might not be out of the question

So, what do you think is best for a beginner? Can you point me in the right direction?

Bollocks you don't know Bono !!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• duotoneduotone Frets: 1024
    https://www.reaper.fm/ - DAW
    https://www.powerdrumkit.com/ - Free Drums to get started.
    https://www.toontrack.com/product/ezdrummer-3/ - Paid Drums, when you want to go deeper down the rabbit hole.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • FezFez Frets: 547
    What @duotone said, plus an interface - focusright scarlet is well thought of but loads of others available. Monitors though headphones would get you going. 
    Once you are up and running with that Computer music magazine comes with loads of free software fx processors that will work with reaper.
    YouTube vids by Kenny Gioia and Adam Steel at Hop pole studios are very helpful.
    Don't touch that dial.
  • LastMantraLastMantra Frets: 3825