Push-pull pot wiring

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• Johnny333Johnny333 Frets: 167
    ICBM said:
    Before we go any further... I am going to stop helping if you refer to pickups as "pups" again. I'm sorry, it just infuriates me for no known reason, but so much that I can barely read a post with it in.

(Deep breath... )

The volume pot reads 6K from terminal 1 to 3 because the switch was in either position 4 or 5 when you measured it - you're seeing the pickup resistance, which is in parallel with it.

To check it's working properly, measure from ground to the middle terminal while slowly turning it from 0 up to 10. Keep the pull-switch down (off) and the pickup selector in the bridge position (humbucker) so the 470K resistor is disconnected.

What you should find is that the resistance starts at 0, reaches a peak of about 125K when the knob is at 7 or 8, then falls back to 16K(ish) at 10.
    Hahah I've never used that term before and don't know what came over me as I actually have the same gripe!
    Will edit immediately and pretend it never happened.

Re the pot checks, on the volume I'm getting no reading from the middle terminal to ground, same with the tone pot 1 (no matter how I rotate the knobs). On tone pot 2, I'm getting 16.2K (unaffected by rotating the knob).
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72408
    This sounds like a bad ground connection.

The 16K from the humbucker tone pot to ground is correct, that’s the pickup resistance again. You should be reading roughly 6K in positions 3 and 5 (or 3K in position 4) on the single coil tone control, and the volume control/ground resistance should go to zero when the knob is.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski