Home recording (electronic music) - where to begin

What's Hot
I really like ambient electronic music and would quite like to have a go at recording some at home. However I have zero experience of recording anything at home. 

Can anyone offer up some general advice on getting started? I think I'm reasonably tech-savvy, but I find the world of DAWs and plugins completely daunting. Is there anything that would make a nice user-friendly introduction? 

I think the PC has enough power (i7, 16gb ram), so if I add a USB midi keyboard, would that cover the hardware side of things, or am I missing something obvious?

I'd rather not chuck too much money towards this at this stage as it's just something to test the waters.

Any advice greatly appreciated - I'm not even sure if I'm asking the right questions here!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• goldtopgoldtop Frets: 6308
    If you already have speakers/monitors, then a USB MIDI keyboard is all you need. Until/unless you want to incorporate external instruments, when you'll need an audio interface.

That PC should be powerful enough for multiple instrument VSTs, too.

As for DAWs, lots of people here like Reaper (but I found it harder to get into than most).
  • 545454545454 Frets: 184
    goldtop said:
    If you already have speakers/monitors, then a USB MIDI keyboard is all you need. Until/unless you want to incorporate external instruments, when you'll need an audio interface.

That PC should be powerful enough for multiple instrument VSTs, too.

As for DAWs, lots of people here like Reaper (but I found it harder to get into than most).
    Excellent, thanks - got the PodGo if I need to plug in guitar / bass. Might trial a couple of DAWs and see if I can find something that makes sense in my brain :)
  • stratman3142stratman3142 Frets: 2228
    edited August 2022