Advice please re Groovebox/Sampler/Sequencer.

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• I always lust after those Yamaha QY 10 / 20 etc  from the 90s , they fit in a case the size of a vhs cassette ,are satisfyingly retro & there are videos on YouTube on how to use one or the other 

https://youtu.be/d5i66uPOe8g
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • jimkehoejimkehoe Frets: 247
    I always lust after those Yamaha QY 10 / 20 etc  from the 90s , they fit in a case the size of a vhs cassette ,are satisfyingly retro & there are videos on YouTube on how to use one or the other 

https://youtu.be/d5i66uPOe8g
    Bit too retro for me.
  • andy_kandy_k Frets: 829
    jimkehoe said:
    andy_k said:
    I'm recently getting a lot of my stuff consolidated / upgraded to a new ( to me ) laptop based studio, I am no pro, but have been tinkering for a fair few years.
    IMO, we don't really need hardware these days - nice if we have the space, but not required to make music.
    I know that is a bold statement, but hear me out.
    I'm using Reaper, having tried PT, Logic and a few others, Reaper just seems to fit all the brief for me, there is nothing that can't be done with it.
    I use a plugin called Unify, by Pluginguru, which has been developed over the last 3 years? maybe, it hosts any VST based plugin on your system, along with it's own built in sampler / midi sequencer / synth / FX, and it allows any mix to be saved as pre sets, including embedded instances of itself.
    Quite hard to explain how fully featuered it is, but basically it is a single plugin that can play an entire composition via a single keyboard by having mapped areas and latched keys - pretty amazing really.
    It actually allows embedded VSTs to perform better than if they were directly inserted on a track, something to do with multi thread performance.