Delores Rhoads explains how her son Randy got hired for Ozzy's band

What's Hot
JasOJasO Frets: 97
It's hard to believe that Randy Rhoads passed away 40 years ago. At the time I was an editor for Guitar Player, and I decided to do a cover story celebrating Randy's life and music. I interviewed Ozzy and Sharon Osbourne, Rudy Sarzo, engineer/producer Max Norman, Grover Jackson, and several others. My interview with Randy's mom, Delores Rhoads, was the most revealing and poignant of them all. It took place on August 5, 1982 -- about four months after the plane crash -- and reveals a wealth of details about Randy's upbringing, personality, passions, and music. In this excerpt, Mrs. Rhoads describes how Randy joined Ozzy's band: 

How did Randy get into Ozzy’s band?