Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Why bother being in a band and why bother trying?

What's Hot

Comments

• imaloneimalone Frets: 748
    Edit : I'm confused here, I'm not a lawyer.

So if you steal a CD it is stealing.

If you copy a CD it is copyright infringement.

If you take a digital file without paying (when it was supposed to be paid for) what is that legally?  Is it copyright infringement, in law?
    Neither am I, so take this with a pinch of salt... You can't really take a digital file without copying it or physically stealing the hardware it's on. You could copy and delete the original I suppose. Depending what happens you've probably got unauthorised access to a computer system in there somewhere too. If a legitimate download site has accidentally made something available to you for free then you're into contract and licensing issues (you'd be expected to delete it once told), you have to have done it 'with criminal intent' for it to have been criminal (not being a lawyer I'm not sure what's sufficient for that, simply knowing you aren't meant to have it might be enough). This is actually where the differences start to show up, if you stole a CD no-one would bother with trying to pursue you for having the music without a license (not certain that's even criminal), because you've stolen a physical object.

guitarfishbay said:
    That isn't a fair statement.  If his response to me was 'this is how it works in law' rather than a statement that looks like it could be fact or opinion, then I would have responded differently.

Okay, sorry if I wasn't clear enough. Hope my later post made more sense.