Wiring diagram for 2 p90 pickups

What's Hot
Dear Fretboarders,

My first stupid question of 2023: I'm looking to fit 2 p90 pickups, 1x volume and 1x tone pots and a 3 way toggle switch to my guitar. This diagram from Tonerider (hope I can say that here) would seem to fit the bill.

The part I'm a bit vague on is where the various earth connections are made. I've seen other diagrams where everything is earthed via the volume pot, including the tone pot and wondered if that approach was viable in this case? Apologies if this is blindingly obvious but I'm new to guitar electrics (and electrickery in general) and would be grateful for any comments.

Kind regards,
Dr N.

"I've got the moobs like Jabba".
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Yes, if you attach every earth to the back of the vol pot then all will be well. Odd way of drawing it though. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Thank you!

• ICBMICBM Frets: 74494
    If it’s easier - soldering to the back of a pot can be tricky, without a powerful iron and the right technique - then you can do it exactly as shown and use a separate terminal to attach all the grounds to. If the guitar has shielding foil in the control cavity then a terminal screwed through it and into the wood also provides the connection to the shielding.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • BillDLBillDL Frets: 9018