Hi Ho Silver Lining ...... starts in D or A ????

What's Hot
Forever beginner here, many apologies !
Just thought I'd learn the late great Jeff's Hi Ho Silver Lining ......
I realise that many songs can be in any key to suit the vocals or whoever, but there seems 2 distinctive 'camps' in youtube tutorials and tabs that have this start as A/D/C/D/A/E....... or D/G/C/G/D/A........
What are the thoughts of the best of these for me to do in a pub open mike session in a couple of days time (with my ropey vocals) but get the chords to sound the better/original - if this makes sense !!!!!
I guess the solo will not be the same depending either ....
...PLEASE HELP !
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• KKJaleKKJale Frets: 982
    edited January 2023
    I would try it in the original key of A first [edit: D! Doh. Apologies Jimbo and the very correct @Viz , this was 3 a.m.] and see if your voice can manage it. It's quite a distinctive rhythm guitar part and you'll lose a little something IMO if you transpose it.

You probably know this, but it's maybe worth mentioning that the first chord is a slashed D over a droning A bass... or actually two different D chords over an A bass. 

I would play the first one by 1) damping the bottom E with my thumb over the neck while 2) letting the open A ring and 3) playing the D string at the 12th fret, G at the 11th and B at the 10th...while all the time damping the top E with your fretting hand first finger. Do this for four beats, then keep damping the top and bottom E and keep playing the open A string but move your hand down the neck and play the D, G and B string all at the seventh fret. It's still a D chord, just a different inversion.Do this for four beats... then move to the G chord for eight beats, then C, G, D, A. And you're away. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • vizviz Frets: 10707
    edited January 2023