Dumbleator Active FX Buffer Users?

What's Hot
I'm very new to this arena so don't really know much, but I have read that Dumble style amps require such devices for whatever design reasons. There were even several posts on TGP that suggested using one even if not using effects in the loop. Having gone down a bit of a rabbit hole, I still find myself none the wiser as to whether I should look into buying one. 

They are pretty expensive pieces of kit, so just wanted to hear if anyone had an opinion or advice in using these? Or if they are necessary at all really. 

I have a Two Rock TS1 incoming tomorrow (the 2020 version, not the current one with a tube buffered reverb). I run a relatively short signal chain - usually a tuner, two drive pedals, looper into the front of the amp, and then the FX loop would have a Flint and a delay. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• exocetexocet Frets: 1987
    The Dumblator is simply a valve driven buffered fx loop.
    Some fx pedals benefit / others are quite OK in an unbuffered loop.
    I'd say that your better off with a buffered fx loop but you don't need a Dumblator.
    Fuchs used to manufacture a couple of pedals under the "Plush" sub brand. One (Verberator) included a digital reverb effect in addition to the buffered loop. The other was just a buffered loop. I've got the reverb version - it works well.
    Then there's the Ceriatone options - C-Lator and Kleinulator (one is valve, the other is solid state). I think they both include a switchable treble response that can be useful in taming the high end response which can be a little on the harsh side on some dumble overdrive cicuits...especially the non HRM variety which I believe the TS-1 is one of? Is it the Robben Ford amp? Not sure if Two Rock built in a low pass filter "post overdrive" on that amp to do the same thing.
    Get the amp first, play around with it. See if your pedals work then go from there.