Gibson certified vintage - I was right all along!!

What's Hot
WezVWezV Frets: 17259
edited July 2023 in Guitar
I've been saying on forums for the last 20 years that I believed the corvus/futura shape was supposed to be a headless guitar. 

They have just put the futura prototype up for sale, and it's headless!

https://www.gibson.com/en-US/page/GCVP0013-1981-Futura-Prototype

0reaction image LOL 6reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• rhinofeetrhinofeet Frets: 122
    That looks more like half a head than headless. The design does make more sense than the final version though 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • andrewawardandrewaward Frets: 1157
    Sold 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • WezVWezV Frets: 17259
    rhinofeet said:
    That looks more like half a head than headless. The design does make more sense than the final version though 
    Yeah, I guess they hadn't got as far as rethinking. truss rod access

Sold 
    They only posted it on Instagram 2 hours ago
  • andrewawardandrewaward Frets: 1157
    Can you remember how much it was?

edited July 2023
    A production futura (corvus has a bolt on neck and no contours)

Vs the prototype

I know people hate the flying can opener, but it's clear from this prototype they were well ahead of their time in terms of ergonomic guitar design. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
    Can you remember how much it was?

No, I missed that bit
  • rlwrlw Frets: 4827
    Not only is it headless, its also fucking horrible.
    Save a cow.  Eat a vegetarian.
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
    rlw said:
    It is, and the production version is even worse because it makes no sense.  

But even so, I did make this template a few weeks ago

0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    Also, I find it interesting from a Gibson History point of view.