Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Moddellers in 2023

What's Hot
Hi all,

Just wondering what the sense is in how ‘accepted’ modelling tech is in 2023, particularly in more ‘traditional’ genres (blues etc).

I’ve been a guitarist most of my life but I drop in and out in terms of my level of involvement/passion/interest in the instrument. As a youngster in my later teens (early-mid 2000s) I played regularly in a band experimenting a lot with sound and loved FX pedals, multi FX etc - running a big board into the front of my amp. I stopped playing for a while and when I came back to it in my late 20s I got into blues-the band I played with was just a duo, me with a resonator into a 5w tube amp and them on drums a a vocals.

Over the pandemic I got more into electronic music, and have spent the last few years buying and selling drum machines, samplers, synths etc with screens, knobs and lights galore. I’ve recently started playing a lot more guitar again and the logical step seemed to be Moddeller. I have picked up a Boss GX100, plugged into my electronic set up it’s great, and I can also run it into the power amp in on my Boss Katana and get a good ‘amp in the room’ sound at home. The FX are great and it’s super versatile. Coming from the electronic world this seemed a no brainer.

However, I’ve also started playing with the blues duo again, and although it works, using the moddeller on that one environment with a magnetic pickup on a battered resonator just ‘feels’ wrong. Is anyone else routinely now using moddellers for blues based gigs with their ‘retro’ guitars. I love the feel of old strats and Gibson etc, but it seems to me that the two worlds are very separate at the moment. Just curious around other’s experiences, views and opinions were on this….