Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Does poor sound quality put you off live music?

What's Hot

Comments

• In response to the OP: YES.

Having been to tons of gigs since my very first in 1989, I’ve heard every quality of sound from clear as a bell to unlistenable garbage.

As others have said, I see no excuse in 2023 for this. 

I know the room plays no small part in this  - Doing my own gigs has taught me that one week I can get a glorious sound and the following week, with the same gear and the same settings, it’s a wooly, echoing mess.

”Ah, but you don’t keep the settings the same, Dave, do you?!” I hear you cry. Well, of course not. I’m no sound engineer - haven’t really got a clue what I’m doing - but I can hear when something isn’t right and I can tweak what needs tweaking.

Most recent gig I went to was Marcus King Band. Seem them a number of times. Always an energetic performance, he has no problem getting a crowd engaged and responsive….except this time the response was muted and flat. Why? Because you go to see an awesome singing guitarist and you can’t hear his voice nor his guitar…you’re going to feel a bit deflated!

Kick drum to flatten universes, but no guitar in the mix?! 

WHAT IS THIS OBSESSION WITH LOUDER THAN HELL KICK DRUM?!?!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • OffsetOffset Frets: 11878

WHAT IS THIS OBSESSION WITH LOUDER THAN HELL KICK DRUM?!?!
    Yeah - and not only live but in the studio as well.  And those with the double foot-pedal and drum sound like a Wile E. Coyote getting a beating from an Acme punching machine.  Just ridiculous.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • thecolourboxthecolourbox Frets: 9822
    edited November 2023