Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

The Mature way to play

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• bertiebertie Frets: 13587
    edited December 2023
    I stopped/went off the "must have max gain"  attitude as soon as I started playing in proper (getting paid for it) covers bands  - I was about 19/20 I guess 

"mature playing" for me,   is less notes per second,  more gaps in appropriate places, and sometimes a millisecond early/late  but on time (if that makes sense) and not always in the same place. 

For me guitar playing shouldn't be like rigidly sticking to a recipe, but knowing which ingredients work with others and how the quantity vaires, actively in relation to each other, depending on your taste buds,  that day
    just because you don't, doesn't mean you can't
     just because you do, doesn't mean you should.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Fishboy7Fishboy7 Frets: 2331
    "Mature" playing makes me think of players like Bill Frisell, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Julian Lage etc. I'm definitely finding that more appealing these days. 
  • WazmeisterWazmeister Frets: 10090
    Mick Here uses the clean amp approach, so that must mean it’s the best…

=)
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SporkySporky Frets: 30139
    I'm going to add fuzz to my Helix "youhadme@cello" patch and see if my cello teacher notices.

Fine.

I'm going to add more fuzz to my Helix "youhadme@cello" patch and see if my cello teacher notices.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • StuckfastStuckfast Frets: 2451