Learning jazz guitar journal

What's Hot
willowillo Frets: 386
So I am going to document my attempts to learn jazz. I've found journalling a really useful tool for keeping myself honest and also reflecting on what I've learnt.

My background is almost exclusively rock and pop playing and recording since I was a kid. Jazz has always fascinated me because:

1. There is often a broader palette of notes used, and players like Bill Frisell really make these extra notes and intervals click with me,
2. I love the way that jazz solos in particular will imply the underlying chord progression, often more clearly than my home turf of rock and pop, and
3. Many jazz guitarists are capable of playing fully solo, live, in a way that doesn't typically lend itself to rock guitar harmony/melody.

I did an online video lesson today to start things and it was humbling. The teacher was great and the format worked well (video call online). But it really shone a light on the various crutches, blags, and bluffs I've developed over the past 30 years. Ultimately I found myself struggling to do what are fairly basic tasks for jazz (a couple of scales, a simple lick, familiar chords but in new positions). I honestly sounded like a flat out beginner, never touched a guitar before :)

But this is why I am doing these lessons and following this process - to learn something new. I do not need to pay someone to validate that I can do what I already know I can do - this is about doing something different and that implies I will not be great from Day 1. As awkward as it was, I am not disheartened and, in fact, I am excited.

So onwards and upwards, I'll keep reporting back.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 9reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Subscribed!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • BradBrad Frets: 662
    edited December 2023
    willo said: