Fender Rhodes MK8

What's Hot
A new model is being made….GAK are selling at £12K !!!!!

Very much for someone with more money than sense .

must be the most and best cloned instrument on the planet for a fraction of the cost .
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• joeWjoeW Frets: 465
    There’s a lot going on under the hood - more than say a PRS of similar price. If I was a professional keys player it might make sense but then again you’d probably leave it in the studio and gig with a modelled equivalent - they aren’t exactly light.  I love the sound of a Rhodes tho and am glad they are still out there.  
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Jay Graydon & some company have modelled that super famous one 
  • StuckfastStuckfast Frets: 2419
    Yes it's a lot of money. But it is also a stunning instrument, and by far the best version of the Rhodes piano ever made. Every part is made to the highest standards in the UK, except for the keybed which is a top-end German model used on Steinway pianos. Of course you can play a Rhodes patch from a digital keyboard and most people listening won't ever know the difference, but you could say that about a high-end guitar or amp too. A genuine electromechanical piano like the Rhodes Mk8 or the Vintage Vibe piano is much more different from any digital model than a high-end guitar is from a cheap one, or an amp modeller from a real amp. It's more like the difference between an actual grand piano and a digital piano.

So, even though it's £10k+ depending on which model you get, they are massively back ordered and can't build them fast enough and I'm not surprised. When you see what goes into it the price tag is not actually outrageous. How much would you pay for a top-end grand piano?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • jackiojackio Frets: 132