3 note per string scale VS the other type ( I dunno what its called :( )

What's Hot
spev11spev11 Frets: 333
In a bid to expand my sloppy playing I'm knuckling down in the practice routines. I seem to be heavily biased towards rhythm playing (chords, power chords, finger picky and hybrid stuff) and , whilst I'm thoroughly enjoying myself I feel I need to expand both my theory (that's for another discussion but I'm currently doing the JustinGuitar course) and my technique for melody and lead orientated playing. I'm up to speed with Pentatonic Scales and getting Major scales shapes ( E shape and C shape in CAGED are in my fingers, the others less so)
 I see mentioned 3 note per string scales as a different option, whilst i'm a firm believer in you can't learn too much should I leave the three note variety till later? Or get it under my belt now? (My thinking stems from almost the first thing I learnt when I started playing was F Barre despite everyone telling me it would be a nightmare, it proved to be quite handy I thought)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• spev11spev11 Frets: 333
    nevermind, i've just had my mind blown (really) after reading the "things you know...." thread and the 1-3-5 etc thing. I had the same dizzy feeling once I'd learnt pentatonic minor shape 1 and being told I could start on any root note and the scale would work, I probably looked puzzled and then a little light bulb over my head, same here. 
    Still, wade in with any advice as to why one or t'other?
  • When I used to take lessons, our teacher taught us scales in the 3 note per string form. Though he taught us that, he never said that's the correct way...because there is no correct way. It was taught to us just as a practical tool to visualise the notes on a scale and navigate around the fretboard. I wouldn't sweat that detail too much.