Is gear actually more fun than making music?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• mo6020mo6020 Frets: 380
    I was a gear hound when I was a working musician and I'm a gear hound now I'm not a working musician. Difference is I have way more money now so have way more gear...

I don't think being into gear makes you a better or worse musician, or invalidates you as a musician somehow.
    "Filthy appalachian goblin."

https://edmorgan.info
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • GoFishGoFish Frets: 1467
    Gear appreciation is certainly easier than *just* playing or practising music, a bit of retail therapy thrown in - it's geekdom really, and many of us have our areas of interests with and beyond gear.

What's wrong with stamp collecting anyway? Or knowing things about s3 of Arrested Development? Or what the Beatles were doing at the George V Hotel in 1964? It's not the same as writing letters, learning how to edit footage, or knowing all the words to Can't Buy Me Love. That's all okay too.

Getting riled up about the latest developments in the world is easier still - so maybe gear ain't so bad. ;)
    Ten years too late and still getting it wrong
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • SnapSnap Frets: 6266
    to the OP - yes is the correct answer
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • flying_pieflying_pie Frets: 1818
    I find I feel healthiest when I'm not worrying about gear or the creative process and I'm just playing.

I definitely prefer making music than collecting or worrying about gear, but spending huge amounts of time to try and settle on a riff can be frustrating. And let's not even mention the red light syndrome where that record button renders you incapable of playing the most basic of things. Sometimes it can feel easier to distract yourself in gear.

Whether it's music or sport I've always been of the mindset that application is much more important than gear.