Loaded pickguard - any clue to why this wiring configuration sounds "dull"? (photo included)

What's Hot
I tried out a set of Mark Foley pickups that came in a loaded pick guard. Sounds awfully dull, as though the tone knob is rolled back a couple of notches (when it's not). 

I've tried adjusting the pickup height with no luck. I was wondering if anyone can tell by the pickguard wiring if there's any clue as to what could be causing it? 

I'm not technically minded at all, so from a complete layman perspective, what I see here is "more transistors and resistors than I'm used to seeing under here". Could they be what's causing the problem?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14821
    edited February 27
    Compare and contrast the smooth "volcano" shaped solder joints in the pot terminals against the "rough as" mess of the ground connections to the volume pot.

Chances are that the pickups are not well grounded.

Additionally, the selector switch is the wrong way around. The spring should be inboard. Otherwise, its metal chassis could short out against any control cavity screening foil or paint.

Your pickup/electronics assembly uses CTS pots with flat-bottomed casings. These are less robust than the type with a dimple and the end of the axle showing. A direct hit can shift the wiper out of full contact with the resistance track.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • thermionicthermionic Frets: 9792
    What you’re seeing which is more than you expected is a treble “bleed” network on the volume pot, which shouldn’t roll off treble. I would be checking the wiring against a schematic and checking ground connections with a multimeter - but then I am pretty technically minded!
  • SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7137
    tFB Trader
    Looks fine to me, it's one of @sixstringsupplies looms.

Is the hot connection to the jack okay though, it looks a bit tenuous?