UPDATE: This year I am NOT making an album

What's Hot
ALRALR Frets: 122
edited March 30 in Making Music
At the start of this year I set myself a challenge: Write and record a completely new set of songs and have them finished and ready for public consumption on 1st January 2025.

I've been playing guitar since 1997 and I'm now in my mid forties. I've been collecting gear and building a nice if modest home studio the whole time, and aside from maybe a dozen finished tunes, have very little to show for the last ten years. I've begun to chastise myself for spending so much time and money to achieve so little, and I've decided that for myself I need to 'put up or shut up'. I've told about fifteen of my close friends and colleagues I'm doing this and will have something for them to listen to in new year, and I'm also going to share it on here. I'm a frequent if hitherto largely silent visitor to tFB, have been for about 8 years so I know what I'm getting into with you lot!

Hopefully my experiences will be interesting to anyone in the same situation.

I began work in January, and have written five songs so far, a batch of three which I'm actively working on, another one which I've earmarked as a slightly more complicated tune which I will keep working on throughout the project, and another one which I will not pursue. I aim to have the first batch of three demoed by 29th March before moving on to whatever comes next.

I've got a vision for the album: 10-12 songs, and no more than 40 minutes long - just like they were in the classic album era. I'm deliberately keeping the arrangement simple and to as much as possible make it sound like an actual real live band: 2 guitars (which are both different), bass and drums - plus lead and backing vocals of course. I will not use any more than 8 tracks in my DAW.