Confession time: I like bass and I cannot lie

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 24469
    Playing bass will always make a person a better guitarist.

Playing piano will make a person a better bassist.

As Marcus Miller noted, the best session bassists are always excellent piano players too.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 27143
    Playing bass will always make a person a better guitarist.

Playing piano will make a person a better bassist.

As Marcus Miller noted, the best session bassists are always excellent piano players too.
    Yeah. I am a WAY better guitarist as a result of learning bass & drums. It also makes me a massively better bandmate because I can understand where things aren't quite right between the various instruments and communicate effectively about potential changes to make parts & performances better. 

As opposed to singers who usually just make lots of mouth-noises in the hope that the rest of us can possibly interpret...! 
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14515
    Bork said:
    And finger muscles. 
    Wot finger muscles? There is muscle attached to the thumb. Fingers are operated by ligaments, attached to muscles in the palm.

I am currently being made very aware of this anatomical arrangement by a nodule on one of them thar ligaments. (Trigger finger.)
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SchnozzSchnozz Frets: 1954
    In order of appeal...

1. Peerless Smoked Bass Custom (EB2-D Bass)
    2. Carvin SB5000 (Fretless Jazz Bass)
    3. Carvin Icon (Modern Soapbar Bass)
    4. Dean Paramount (Precision Bass)