Adding strings to recordings

What's Hot
fastonebazfastonebaz Frets: 4146
Quite often now I'd like to add some kind of orchestral strings or keys to my songs / compositions/recordings but I've no experience of it and a little unsure where to start.

Do I buy a midi keyboard, synth plugin, can I do it with guitar and Reaper already?

Any tips appreciated 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14646
    Q1) Does Reaper already have provision to include MIDI Note data alongside your audio track(s)?

Q2) Does Reaper already support plug-in virtual instruments?

Q3) Do you know any music theory? (e.g. Harmony and counterpoint.)

If the answer to all three questions is yes, you can probably enter the note pitches and durations in to Reaper already with a combination of your computer keyboard and mouse.

Unfortunately, any synthesizer or sample replay virtual instrument is unlikely to sound quite like a bunch of humans, playing violins, violas, cellos or contrabasses in a sympathetic room. 

Might prove wiser to use a Mellotron, Roland RS-202 or ARP/Solina Ensemble plug-in.

Finally, is Reaper already Orthodox, Conservative or Reformed? ;)
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • elusivelightelusivelight Frets: 49
    I"d recommend the Spitfire Audio BBC orchestra plugin. They have a free version and it's very good. 

You can program it in with a keyboard or you can pencil it in on the midi roll like you would with any other midi instrument in reaper or and DAW. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 5reaction image Wisdom
  • sev112sev112 Frets: 2815
    The Mel9 pedal is not bad, it certainly can go a pretty good cello, and some combined strings if yo7 get the setting ps and playing right 
  • TTonyTTony Frets: 27806
    edited April 7
    I"d recommend the Spitfire Audio BBC orchestra plugin. They have a free version and it's very good.