To mod or not to mod….

What's Hot
BlackjackBlackjack Frets: 250
So, to mod or not to mod….that is the question!

I have got an Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro (I know, don’t shoot me.. I don’t have the bank balance or the playing ability to justify a Gibson one!!).  Basically it is a very nice guitar and has been well received by others who have played it.  It’s got the Epiphone Probucker pickups that it was built with and the push/pull coil splitting speed knobs on it. However I do find sometimes that it sounds slightly muddy and I am therefore considering changing the pickups on it and also removing the coil splitting as I never use it.  If I did that I would probably change the speed knobs for the more traditional witches hat style ones. I have got a very good local guitar tech who would do the work for me for a very reasonable price. 

Basically, I am looking for views and opinions on modding my guitar like this.  I have never done anything like this before so any help and advice would be much appreciated.  I am not worried about the expense of doing it vs the value of the guitar as I have no plans to sell it.  It was my first reasonable guitar and I am emotionally connected to it.  I would just like it to be the best that it can be! 

Thanks very much! 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• WhitecatWhitecat Frets: 5436
    Worth it for your own sake then for sure. I’m a big fan of modding less expensive guitars to get them to be exactly what you want. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 27141
    edited April 25
    I've modded almost every guitar I have* including pickups, wiring, knobs & hardware on everything from Squiers to CS Gibsons. They're only guitars - go for it!