Fluffing my notes ?

What's Hot
Jimbo55Jimbo55 Frets: 7
Hi all, forever beginner here, need to practice much more ....
Why do I fluff so many notes when I try to solo, more often when playing with others ...I seem to get to the correct fret positions but then many muffled notes - I know. like many. that maybe I am rushing to get there, in panic possibly.
Even worse when I say slide up on two strings (not adjacent ones) to pick each one after other.
Maybe it's old age setting in and coordination problems - I think I position/anchor my hands/fingers OK on he neck. Not easy to explain this - when I look at others playing they seem to be hitting clean notes effortlessly.
I sometimes think my guitar(s) are all a bit duff fret-wise/string heights, but these have been checked over by my local guitar store gurus.
I guess many will advise sensibly that I need to take my time, and practise practise practise ...but is there something I am missing doing ??? Feeling silly .....help !
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 25050
    Slow down! As slow as you need even if it is 1 note every week!

Practice only makes permanent - and that includes mistakes.

Perfect Practice makes Perfect.

Don't practice until you don't make a mistake, practice until you can't make a mistake

Use a metronome properly. Humans are crap at playing things the same tempo every day so with a metronome you can set it and then increase it by say 5bpm after a week and so on.

An old shredding lesson always suggested backwards steps too.

50bpm until you play it perfectly for a week.

Then 55bpm

Then 60bpm

Then drop back to 55bpm for a week - that's the easy consolidation week you get to relax a bit. Should be easy. Then back to 60, then 65 etc etc.

I’m so bored I might as well be listening to Pink Floyd

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • digitalkettledigitalkettle Frets: 3403