Keefy’s Guide to Kick-Ass Gigs

What's Hot
KeefyKeefy Frets: 2416
I realised the other day that I have been playing guitar in front of audiences for some 45 years, so I thought it might be an idea to share some of the ‘wisdom’ that I have acquired in that time. All of the following is intended to apply to live gigs of any type or description, and goes beyond learning, practising, and rehearsing the material. Feel free to disagree and/or chuck in your own nuggets - this is the Internet after all.

Case the Joint

If you haven’t been to the venue before, do what you can to check out things like access and parking. Google Maps and Street View are you friends, along with Parkopedia (website and app). There is a venue that I flatly refuse to play because there is nowhere to park legally within half a mile - once the pub’s 3 parking spaces are gone, you’re stuffed.

Go Equipped 

With spares. It’s up to you how far you take this but at least have spares of things that are easily mislaid or broken eg plectrums, cables, strings.

Look the Part

I can’t dictate how you should dress for the stage, but I recommend you apply some intention to it. If you want to look like you just walked in after doing the weekly shop, no problem, at least you thought about it. You can never be too smart on stage, but it’s an uncomfortable feeling to be walking around a posh do where the guests are all better dressed than you.

Defend your Space