Going to do a Crimson Guitars building course

What's Hot
longshinslongshins Frets: 249
So I’m going to make a dream come true and build a guitar from scratch. I’ll be doing the 5 day flat top guitar course and was wondering if anyone could help with some cool ideas bearing in mind I can’t make anything too crazy and have no woodworking skills really.

The obvious choice is a tele but it does seem a bit boring… I’m lucky enough to have owned loads of guitars over the years so there’s not really an itch that needs to be scratched. I’ll ramble a bit now about things I like and it’d be cool if you could help me distill it into something a bit more concrete that’s achievable.

First thing is I’m a big tall guy so I don’t want a design that’ll make the instrument look like a ukulele, yet comfortable enough to sit and play for long periods, I work as a full time guitar teacher so it’ll need to balance nicely on my lap and not feel too cumbersome. Shape wise I dig the old Hayman, Shergold and Rick 360.

Scale length I like 24.75 and I reckon a 6 a side headstock should work to stop it looking too ‘stubby’. I’d like narrow tall frets and to scallop from the 15th fret up or maybe from where the body meets neck. 

Now this is where I start to struggle a bit regarding pickups and the bridge. First criteria is the pickups needs to be hum cancelling as noise does my head in when recording etc. I quite fancy a left handed tele bridge to get twangier bass strings and thicker treble, but then again Schaller make some tasty looking offerings. So if I do the tele bridge I’d probably go for a blade type thing, if a normal bridge I love filtertons but heard they don’t align with the strings very well in the back position. To wrap this bit up, essentially I like a scoopy bridge tone and a thick neck tone, but I also like a stratty ‘quack’ option too.

I’ll shut up now, if you want to chuck some ideas/warnings at me go for it! Thanks!