1960s Fender Bass ?

What's Hot
woodwormwoodworm Frets: 6
edited July 23 in Bass

A friend came across this " 1960s Bass online " ... From what I can see from the photos it  has a had a refin to the neck and bod but I am no expert on vintage Fenders but also rosewood just above the nut does not look the right shape for this era - also the font on the serial does not look right..

He went and viewed the bass but they did not allow it to be dismantled 
Too much of a gamble ?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ZoonyboyZoonyboy Frets: 169
    It look real to me, the later 62 necks did have rosewood boards that looked like that, just after the slab ones were made (changed production method mid-62) and the serial number looks fine to me, and is approx. the right area for a late 62, maybe August/Sept but they can vary. The pick guard looks real, the body is the biggest issue in having that Di socket installed. It isn't ever going to be original again, and has had a lot of mods. So should never be expensive. The re-done finish looks yucky. If you are prepared to live with it as it stands, and the neck is straight, it is probably OK if cheap enough. If the pickup is original it should sound great, and that's the main thing with these. If it plays well and sounds good, close your eyes and enjoy. It's about the best era for a P Bass. I have a 64 that is unmatched for tone, and better than my 57 which is saying something. Otherwise you could think about a used USA re-issue. I'd always play it first for a few minutes, you'll soon know. Good luck!
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14920
    What he said.

The bridge is too shiny. The refin is embarrassing. Everything else looks right for '62/63.

A refinished/refurbished example is never going to attract top Dollar collector prices. A genuine '62 original for the price of a present day re-issue should be a no-brainer.