Tweed Deluxe kits

What's Hot
PabcranePabcrane Frets: 492
I'm thinking about making a kit Deluxe amp over Christmas. I've never done this before, my soldering skills are rudimentary only having put in or fixed pickup wiring and changed speakers, and I'm not sure what to look for.

I was wondering what experience you ladies and gents had with the kits available here in the UK?

I was looking at the Modulus one (including cab without speaker or valves) which was around £600 and seems reasonable and the kind of ball-ground in which I'm considering (however it doesn't come with detailed instructions which I'm certain I would require!)

I've got a speaker which I think would go brilliantly in something like this and I'd also like to give it bash.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• soma1975soma1975 Frets: 7067
    I have not made one but having nearly pulled the trigger several times I feel Modulus all the way if you are in the UK. 
    My Trade Feedback Thread is here

Been uploading old tracks I recorded ages ago and hopefully some new noodles here.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • KeefyKeefy Frets: 2416
    I built a Modulus Deluxe kit and it’s great, I’ve done loads of gigs with it (mainly rock’n’roll). You do need to be on top of your soldering game though. I’d suggest building a couple of pedal kits first, starting with a simple one like a Fuzz Face clone. It will be give you the chance to practice 3 key skills:
    (1) soldering;
    (2) reading a circuit diagram; and
    (3) fault-finding!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • spev11spev11 Frets: 431