Any bandsaw users here ?

What's Hot
Emp_FabEmp_Fab Frets: 24694
I picked up a cheap 250w B&Q bandsaw from a car boot, fixed the on/off switch and cleaned it all up and it works....  but....  it has the power of a small bee.  I can barely cut through a 5mm bit of laminate without the blade slowly coming to a halt.  I'm presuming this isn't normal for a 250w machine ? I know 250w is low powered but surely it should cut better than this ?....but as I've never used a bandsaw before, I don't really know !

Can a motor fail in a mode that it still runs at its correct speed but has very little power ?
Donald Trump needs kicking out of a helicopter

Offset "(Emp) - a little heavy on the hyperbole."
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TTonyTTony Frets: 28006
    Is the blade blunt?

I've got a mega-machine, but that'll still burn (rather than cut) itway through wood if the blade is blunt, or if it's the wrong blade for the job.

Justbandsawblades.co.uk
    Having trouble posting images here?  This might help.
  • MistergMisterg Frets: 353
    edited December 2014
    Mine's a cheapy 260W one acquired during mildly inebriated ebaying. It managed OK (actually better than OK - perfectly well) with this (~4" thick):

http://i255.photobucket.com/albums/hh143/werdnayarg/webstuf/Firedoor/DSC_1761.jpg

1) Get a new blade - I was recommended one that turned out to be excellent (can do some digging if you need).

2) Make sure the blade guides & bearings are clean, free running and properly adjusted

3) Don't push - you never need to push....

The blade on mine was on backwards when I got it - the teeth pointed up because someone had turned the blade inside out before fitting it...

• WezVWezV Frets: 16967
    Yeah, new blade, oil the bearings and let the blade do its job as said above.

I am still using a little old clarke bandsaw that I was given about 12 years ago.

When set up well it still cuts 4" of maple fairly well.