My laptop won't boot.

Comments

• DiscoStuDiscoStu Frets: 5606
    Ask away, I'm no expert! No, I downloaded Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS (The top one on the page) then used the linked installer software to get it on the flash drive. I chose 'Ubuntu' from the drop down in the installer, same as the screenshots in your link. should I have formatted the flash drive first? It just says on the site that you need 2GB free on it rather than saying it has to be empty and formatted. I installed it on two different sticks and same thing happens with both.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Hmmm. Sounds like your laptop just isn't recognising it, which is very weird. You don't need to format the drive first - at least not usually. 

Actually, it could be worth leaving it for 10 minutes at the black screen stage; if it failed to boot from USB, then it'd skip to the main drive and start booting Win7. If your USB drive is a bit slow, it could take quite a while to load.
    <space for hire>
    Ok, thanks. I'm off to a comedy club so will try again later or tomorrow.
  • rprrpr Frets: 310
    I had the exact same problem,caused by a major windows update being interrupted. The used the Ubunto on USB stick method which worked , however it took a LOT of attempts to get it to boot. Seem to remember the on/off button had something to do with it restarting,but cant really remember now.
     Worth persevering with tho, suppose getting windows re-installed would fix -though not really ideal.
  • IanpdqIanpdq Frets: 131
    I have a lenovo laptop it has a restore button next to the start button just a thought

Ianpdq said:
    I have a lenovo laptop it has a restore button next to the start button just a thought

Aye, tried that!
  • equalsqlequalsql Frets: 6252
    edited December 2014
    Have you tried hitting F8 continually when it starts up? This should get you to a list of safemode options.