I tried a 5150iii today

What's Hot
xscaramangaxscaramanga Frets: 436
Hi everyone, 

Newbie here (although some MusicRadar refugees might remember me). 

Today I went into PMT Bristol and tried out a 5150iii (50 watt version). I really liked it. Even when running a ton of gain on channel 2, there was a crisp cleanness to single notes on the bottom strings, which I thought was impressive. It sounded killer, exactly like I hoped it would.

Only two disappointments, really: 1) I hoped that diming the clean channel would result in a sound a bit like a cranked up non-MV amp. It didn't. Clean channel under high gain was just brittle, imo.

2) It seemed to sound worse really cranked up. I don't know if that's because I wasn't in a very nice sounding room, or if rebiasing would help, but instead of getting fatter and dirtier when I turned it up, it just seemed to sound harsher.

Still, I'm definitely tempted. Staff in PMT were friendly and helpful too. I hadn't been in that shop since it was Sound Control, when all the staff treated me like I'd been hitting on their mothers. 
My YouTube channel, Half Speed Solos: classic guitar solos demonstrated at half speed with scrolling tab and no waffle.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Hertz32Hertz32 Frets: 2248
    TThat harshness you heard is probably power amp distortion coming in as you crank the Master volume, it's why most modern metal amps are 100/120w, so you can run them loud without getting vast amounts of flubby, harsh power amp distortion.

'Awibble'
    Vintage v400mh mahogany topped dreadnought acoustic FS - £100 
  • NerineNerine Frets: 2212
    Just go with that 2204, man ;)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Hertz32 said: