Fender Supersonic 60w head

What's Hot
shaunmshaunm Frets: 1621
Are these any good? Are they well made amps? How do they compare to twins or HRD's?

Any advice would be great.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72471
    They seem a bit overpriced (to me) and have reports of reliability problems and issues with the footswitch, although I have no personal experience.

Twins are a classic, well-made and reliable, but if you mean the reissue ones are a much simpler amp really - no channel switching, FX loop etc.

HRDs are also a classic modern amp, great value for money and now well above average reliability - they've been in production a long time (longer than any other Fender amp model in fact) and have had all the early faults ironed out.

If you're after the absolutely classic Blackface tone, the HRD won't do it though. They do have a great clean tone, but it's somewhere between BF and Tweed in terms of voicing, and the reverb isn't quite as good.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• I sold my Supersonic 60 head.

Clean was good but the OD is very hifi sounding with no punch whatsoever.
  • MattFGBIMattFGBI Frets: 1602
    The super sonic 60 is one of the most reliable amps we have. Can't remember the last time I saw one back to be honest.

You just need to decide what tone you want.

At the moment I don't think there's anything better than the 68 Vibrolux, but it's nothing like a super sonic.
    This is not an official response. 

contactemea@fender.com 

• DeijavooDeijavoo Frets: 3298
    Ratching through the presets on Bias, I'm in love with a patch someone has loaded up of his Supersonic. Always fancied one but heard various reliability reports.