NGD (and hello): K-Line Truxton Special

What's Hot
StuartMac290StuartMac290 Frets: 1494
edited March 2015 in Guitar
First of all, hello - I'm a long-time lurker (solely because I couldn't ever locate the confirmation email from having signed up, until I got a new email account with a proper spam folder) who has finally decided it was time to register properly, partly inspired by a new guitar - which I think may be the best of reasons.

I've been playing for a living for 25 years now, and have owned far too many guitars to count, at least a couple of hundred. Of all the ones that I have passed through my hands, there are I think 3 I would ever actually buy back (for the record, a Gretsch 6120TM, a '68 Tele, and an SG Standard that I didn't fully appreciate at the time).

A little over a year ago I acquired a Collings 290 (hence the name) which I think, on balance, is the finest electric guitar I've ever played anywhere, let alone owned. Even acoustically it sounds incredible, and the whole thing vibrates in the most appealing way. It reminds me of a '58 Junior I once had hired in, and plays beautifully too. I have no idea if they're all as good - I've never played another 290 - but for me this guitar is the pinnacle. I've played other Collings electrics, but fortunately for my wallet, the 290 is the best of the lot in my opinion, just a perfect instrument (if such a thing is possible).

The problem has been that it makes my other guitars seem a little less...whatever. I've pretty much settled by now on a nice collection of instruments for work, and each guitar I have is the best example of each model I've owned (my Historic '63 ES335 Nashville is the best semi I've ever played anywhere) but the Collings is another level up, and no one guitar can cover every base, really.

Recently I was sent a K-Line Truxton Special to try out. I was fairly cynical about the whole "boutique Fenders" thing, to be honest, but I have to say - this guitar has absolutely knocked me out.