So What's Similar to a Hardwire CM2 Overdrive?

What's Hot
rawk100rawk100 Frets: 1757
Hello, noob here (although I use to post on other forums and have been lurking for a bit). Ive been borrowing my mates Hardwire overdrive for a while and have been really impressed at how it pushes my dirty amp into chunkyness. I really like the dual EQ and the extra tweaking that it gives you over a normal tubescreamer. He wants it back soon so I want to buy one for myself but was wondering what else is similar as I want to check out a few alternatives first. I really want something which can do the similar low gain tubescreamer type drive but with the dual EQ for more tone shaping. I'll be using it to tighten up a high gain head or push a medium gain amp. Cheers....
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MrSwansonMrSwanson Frets: 457
    I think for the money new or used you can't go wrong with getting a CM2 anyway!
    View my trading feedback here: http://thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/58681/
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700

The CM-2 is a favourite of mine.

Alternatives,

EHX East River drive, essentially a tube screamer by a different maker.

Boss SD-1 or DS-1 pretty much a "go-to" pedals for a lot of guitarists in a lot of genres.

Digitech Bad Monkey a cheap TS-alike pedal with treble/bass adjustments. Again a favourite.

Digitech Hothead pretty much a DS-1 with bass/treble controls rather than mids like the DS-1.

Hardwire SC-2 tube distortion, similar to the CM-2, but gain is a bit higher.

Marshall Guvnor (MK1) sounds almost identical to the CM-2.

Marshall Jackhammer, Guvnor2, Drivemaster, Shredmaster all pretty much "Marshall in a box" type drives.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21) 

• monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17718
    edited March 2015 tFB Trader