Time for some total newb observations.

PyromanPyroman Frets: 58
  Alright, so I'm sure most of you guys know all this already, but what the hell.

I had a go at an MXR Classic Distortion again that I picked up cheap a while back.  I remember being fairly unimpressed with it's range when I first tried it out. ( not very much distortion on it's own, which I thought was the point?  Hell, my Blues Driver gets MUCH hairier...)  Into a clean amp, it really doesn't do much.

However, when added to an already driven amp, wow!  Now THAT'S what I expected from a distortion.  I was using the '70s Brit model on my SC X2 ( it's a Plexi, I believe.), which I love already.  When I turned the pedal on, it just added all this mojo to the tone!  Never took over the tone, just added more crunch and enhanced the heck out of it.  What I got was all this warm growl that put a huge grin on my face.

Same goes for "goose-ing" a '78 Distortion with an overdrive pedal.  ( Mustang amp this time)  The dist pedal seemed to absorb all the level boost I could feed it, and just get better and better w/o getting too over the top.  My Strat was sounding mean as hell, and I'm sure the neighbors were NOT happy, as the master volume just magically kept turning itself up...   I always figured the boost would be cumulative going into the amp, but the Mustang handled it w/o even flinching.  I was pleasantly surprised at how far I could turn up the level on the distortion, w/o hitting the limiter in the Mustang.

On the other hand, the fuzz pedal sounded like absolute shit.  Just fizzy and nasty sounding.  Not at ALL what it sounds like in front of the Super Champ, or my class D Markbass amp.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• The dist iii is one of my favourite drive pedals. I like the sound on its own, too, but it really comes alive when going into an already dirty amp.
  • daveyhdaveyh Frets: 684