OM for flatpick/strumming?

What's Hot
strtdvstrtdv Frets: 2502
I've currently got a Furch Durango G (Grand Auditorium), which I love, but I've spied a beautiful Furch OM35SR on Rguitars which I'm very tempted by. 

I love Furch guitars, but the Vintage series appeals much more to me than the Millennium series, and the grand auditorium body shape isn't available on the the Vintage series, so I've basically got the option of a dreadnought or an OM, or a round shouldered dreadnought which I've never tried before.

I play both fingerstyle and with a pick, but mostly with a pick, and I'm wondering if an OM will work for this, or would I be better off with one of the dreadnoughts?
The GA shape gives me enough bass and power for strumming and flatpicking, but also has enough refinement and sweetness for fingerstyle, which is really the balance I'm looking to get.
Robot Lords of Tokyo, SMILE TASTE KITTENS!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LewyLewy Frets: 4358
    Have never tried it myself but I've seen people flatpicking on OMs and it can sound great with the right instrument.
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11515
    I've got a Stonebridge(Furch) OM and it sounds good strummed with a pick or fingerpicked.  I think the OM is a good alrounder.
  • strtdvstrtdv Frets: 2502
    I'm beginning to think that myself. The Vintage series are absolutely beautiful, I played one about 4 years ago and it was just the most resonant lively guitar I've ever played.
  • GruGru Frets: 339
    I agree that an OM is a great choice for an all rounder. The slightly wider nut and string spacing is great for finger picking, but still good for strumming. IMO.

That 1/16 makes a huge difference for me.
  • BasherBasher Frets: 1213
    edited May 2015
    Boring/predictable answer but if you can try them out, go with the one that works best for you.